Center Stage: Oprah Clarifies Trump Statement

oprah.png

By Joshua Cubillo

Oprah Winfrey was in some hot water recently for her comments after the surprise election of Donald Trump, as the 45th President of the United States. In an interview with Entertainment Tonight, Oprah said that she breathed a sigh of relief when she saw President Elect Trump meet with President Obama.

She said that she had hope for peace when she saw how cordial and kind the two men were to each other. Saying that it gave her hope for the future, that it was going to be ok. Her comments did not go down well with many, leading to many angry messages on twitter regarding her statements.

When Oprah says something, normally people listen and agree with her, but that was not the case this time. During a Q&A Oprah expanded on her comments saying, “I was expecting tension, awkwardness, and strain … so when I saw them sitting together, I actually took a picture of the screen that said ‘President-elect Trump honored to meet Obama.’ And President Obama was being so gracious, and I heard Donald Trump say, ‘He’s a good man.’ I heard Donald Trump say, ‘I’m going to be seeking his counsel.’ I literally went [deep breath], ‘I can breathe now.’”

She continued, “My mistake, and this is what I know to be true: You can never talk about everybody … Even in your arguments with your husband and your children. Don’t talk about what you should do, what you ought to do — you can only speak for yourself. So what I should have said was, ‘I just took a breath.’”

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Center Stage

Leave a Reply

