Center Stage: The Weekend

the weekendWritten By: Stephany Gonzalez

Congratulations to the man that has had an amazing year who is now in the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine, The Weeknd!  The R&B artist has had his song “The Hills” in the No.1 Billboards spot for four weeks in a row; beating his other song “Cant feel my face.”  The successful singer has been having such a positive year but it hasn’t always been that way.  The singer and songwriter who anonymously uploaded several songs to YouTube five years never would have imagined that he would be where he is now.  “I was everything an R&B singer wasn’t,” he mentioned in his interview, “I wasn’t in shape. I wasn’t a pretty boy. I was awkward as fuck. I didn’t like the way I looked in pictures — when I saw myself on a digital camera, I was like, ‘Each.‘”  The singer now has nothing to worry about because he is talked about from left to right and his music plays nonstop on the radio.

The Weeknd has been allowing himself to step out his shell, appearing on several magazine covers, taking interviews and performing in big events such as Saturday Night Live and Coachella.  The singer announced his Rolling Stone debut on Instagram with the caption, “ I’m still shaking…proudest moment of my career.”  The magazine cover goes in depth with The Weeknd’s Ethiopian roots as well as him being in center of the spotlight, releasing one more album before taking a break.

The Weeknd is extremely thankful for his closest friend in the industry, Drake.  The “Hotline Bling” artist gave The Weeknd a huge boost featuring him on his double-platinum album, Take Care.  “I gave up almost half of my album.  It’s hard.  I will always be thankful- if it wasn’t for the light he shined on me, who knows where I’d be.  And everything happens for a reason.”  Although The Weeknd has had a spectacular year, the R&B couldn’t be any more thankful for his fans supporting him along the way and hopes to be the next Michael Jackson.  Catch The Weeknd on the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine and read what other surprising things he opens up in his interview. 25 never looked better, congrats The Weeknd!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Center Stage

Leave a Reply

