Crooked I on the Prowl: Apex Predator Review

Review written by: Nate Sherman

After over a decade of being in the game, Crooked I has finally released his first studio album, “Apex Predator”. The album was released on July 30th and after listening to it, I have to say that it is a very versatile album that has the right balance of aggression, relatable tracks, and raw lyrics; basically everything that you don’t hear often from mainstream hip hop artists. It’s amazing that this is the first album of such a seasoned emcee, but for his first swing at bat, Crooked I’s “Apex Predator” does not disappoint.

The album does not feature too many collabs, which is great because I think this album desperately needed to be a platform for Crook to showcase himself prominently. The album features 11 unique tracks, but my personal favorite track has to be “Let Me Get It” which features Tech N9ne. I cannot express how dope this song is. Individually Crook and Tech N9ne are great lyricists and Tech N9ne is just a lyrical genius who’s flows are simply masterful. These two together on this track made a great team and they really compliment each other.. I don’t need to tell you, but you know a song is good when you instantly turn that volume up to full blast. “Let Me Get It” is just one of those tracks that makes you lose a sense of reality as Crook and Tech have you riding every flow.

There is only one word to describe Crooked I’s “A Lady Fell In Love”: HONEST. In this track, Crook is honest, maybe to a fault, about him basically being a dog to good women in his life due to his promiscuous activity. He wants to be a good guy and evolve in his relationships, but the demons and temptations is something he struggles with. I’m sure there are many out there, not just within the music industry, but a lot of men in general that have this same problem. I like a guy who calls himself out for his mistakes, and Crooked I definitely put himself out there with this track.
Overall,  “Apex Predator” is a fantastic album and if you haven’t listened to it, I am recommending it to those who are fans of Crooked I, Slaughterhouse, or just Hip Hop in general. It’s sad that not many people are being exposed to real Hip Hop like this “Apex Predator” album. Hip Hop with raw lyrics. Hip Hop that has a message. Hip Hop with lyrics that express passion, intensity, and aggression. It’s a  crying shame that tracks like “Let Me Get It” or “Nobody Cares” aren’t on mainstream radio stations. Tracks with a message and raw raps with sick beats, but I guess this is not what is considered real Hip Hop. Hey but what do I know? I am just a fan of what I consider to be Hip Hop. For my money, Crooked I’s “Apex Predator”…is Hip Hop!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Reviews

Leave a Reply

